top of page

Res

While I have been exploring in Tokyo, I have been able to narrow down my focus and find some more information regarding the treatment and protections of LBGTQ+ people within Japan.

I have found that same sex relationships are currently recognized (to a certain extent) in Shibuya. Shibuya has made some important steps towards equality, specifically with the passage of their same sex partnership policy in 2015. This policy allowed same sex couples in Shibuya to have similar rights as heterosexual couples during hardships, like hospital visits. This ordinance was described by Mayor Toshitake Kuwahara as a social recognition policy, rather than full on legal recognition. As a result, same sex couples are still unable to be married in the same way that heterosexual couples can, but they are able to have their unions treated as a “similar equivalent to heterosexual relationships. This policy was a stepping stone to reducing discrimination of same sex couples in Shibuya, and will serve as an example to other districts as time goes on.

Since Shibuya is a very progressive area in this respect, I think it would be interesting to compare it to other districts that are potentially less accepting of LGBTQ+ people. I’m particularly curious about how LGBTQ+ relationships and statuses are treated in the Japanese countryside, or in neighborhoods with large elderly populations. I think that looking at areas like Ginza with an abundance of elderly people would be able to reveal a lot about the changing views from one generation to the next. However, based on the research I have done, finding this information may be difficult. It may be best for me to communicate with Julie to find resources and people that I can meet with in person, as online articles focus mostly on populated cities and the younger demographic.

I am looking forward to continuing my research and learning more about this issue. I believe that analyzing the development of LGBTQ+ support will be helpful in creating a more accepting society for both Japan and the US.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page