top of page

Week 1 Reflection

During my first week of Japan, I was able to explore unique districts in Tokyo and experience many different things. While adjusting to the time zone was initially very difficult, arriving a few days early allowed me to adjust quickly and experience Tokyo outside of the course. I spent my first few days exploring touristy locations, shopping, and learning how to use the metro system. Once our exploration seminar started, I was able to consume more information about Japan’s culture and really learn about the country.

The first location we traveled to as a group was the Yasukuni Shrine. With the help of the various readings and the discussion we had, I realized that the controversy surrounding the shrine was similar to the controversy about confederate statues in America. To many in Japan, the Yasukuni Shrine serves to remind its people about their history, and to honor the fierce warriors that fought for the nation. However, the shrine can also be interpreted as a reinforcement of Japanese superiority. To those of non-Japanese descent, the shrine is a reminder that they will never truly be considered “Japanese”, and that their existence is inferior. Similarly, in America, many people view confederate statues as an important snippet of American history. But to many, the statues are a symbol of white supremacy and structured racism within America. While these two monuments may be memorializing different things, the controversy behind them is similar.

On Tuesday, I traveled to Harajuku to complete my observation assignment. I spent most of my time on Takeshita Street, which is a hub for fashionistas and tourists alike. While I was here, I was able to observe many different types of people; fashionable teens, mothers and their children, european tourists, and many others. For me, Harajuku felt similar to Seattle. There were many people challenging the idea of gendered clothing; people experimented with androgyny, femininity and masculinity alike. In Harajuku, I saw many LGBTQ+ couples walking together, holding hands, without anyone so much as batting an eyelash. It felt like a place of acceptance, where everyone could be themselves and choose to love and dress however they wished. Seeing this, I wondered if other areas were also as accepting. I decided that I would check out Shinjuku’s gay district later that week.

On Saturday night, I went to a drag bar called “Campy! Bar” in the Shinjuku gay district. While I was nervous at first, I found the bar to be extremely welcoming. People of all gender identities and sexual orientations were welcome in the bar, and I was able to have great conversation with a variety of people. As I conversed with one of the drag queens, she told me that the bar was a great place to chat with open minded people. She said that the gay district in general is a very safe place for LGBTQ+ individuals. In the bar, they didn’t tolerate any sort of harassment. A man started hitting on me while I was there, and a drag queen, seeing how uncomfortable I was, intervened and told him to leave. Although I was only there for 3 hours, I felt like I was a part of the community.

Because of this, I have decided to pick Shinjuku as a district to compare to Shibuya in my research. I think that I will look at available rights to LGBTQ+ individuals in both areas, and possibly compare how the communities interact. I think it will be interesting to learn more about gay rights and gay communities in both areas.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page