top of page

Reflection 3

On Tuesday, we were told to visit an art museum on our own. I had wanted to visit the Shibuya Diversity Center beforehand for some research, so I decided to go to the Shoto Art Museum in the area. Unfortunately, the experience wasn’t the best. The woman selling admission tickets became frustrated when I couldn’t understand her and said in Japanese that I was an idiot. Also unfortunately for her, I understood that part of the conversation. When I frowned, she realized I understood her, and hurriedly gave me the ticket. I quickly went through the museum before heading to class. We then had a lecture at Waseda University, which I found very interesting. Although I had learned about Buddhism and Confucianism before, I had never learned about Shintoism. After the lecture, I found that many of the people and lifestyles reflect shintoism— the importance of harmony, enjoyment, peace and nature has been very prevalent in the shrines we have visited, as well as in the Hiroshima Peace Museum. I also feel that the parks in Tokyo are very reflective of these ideas as well.

For the next two days, I mostly worked on my final presentation and finished up some extra research. Overall, I really enjoyed hearing the other students’ research. I was able to learn many different things about Japan that I previously hadn’t considered. From trains shaping daily life to the names that immigrants use when they live in Japan, our group covered many diverse subjects.

Going to Japan really pushed me out of my comfort zone, but I am glad I went. I was able to experience many different aspects of the culture that I was previously unaware of. Having an academic program to stick to also helped me explore areas I otherwise wouldn’t have traveled to as a tourist. Surprisingly, traveling to Japan also made me realize some of the things I value in American society. The recent administration made me feel like I wouldn’t miss America at all while I was gone. However, I realized some key things that I really value about the US. One thing I value is individual independence. As an introvert, it was difficult for me to really get into the group dynamics that Japanese society stresses. I didn’t want to be judged because of the actions of the people I happened to be with, and it was frustrating at times to have to constantly mesh with others. Another thing I missed was being able to have a causal conversation with waiters, store clerks, or other strangers. The language barrier was very difficult, and being unable to communicate was very draining at times.

This trip was a great opportunity for me to see more of the world and learn about Japanese culture. While I don’t think I’d want to stay in Japan for longer periods of time, I definitely would like to come back as a tourist with my family and friends.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page